Eight MSU football players earn league honors

Times Staff Report

December 6, 2013

MOREHEAD - Joshua Brunner, Alex Hey, Kitaro Lewis, John Coleman, Michael Jackson, Steven Lester, Ronald Cooper and Brandon Bornhauser have all been tabbed to the Pioneer Football League Honorable Mention list for the 2013 season.

Brunner, a junior from Pittsburgh, and Hey, a sophomore from Bryan, Ohio, blocked for an offensive unit that averaged 240 passing yards, 129 rushing yards and 369 total yards. The Eagles allowed just 1.6 sacks per game, which ranked third in the PFL.

Lewis, a junior wide receiver from Suwanee, Ga., ranked second at Morehead State with 49 catches for 529 yards. He also pulled in three receiving touchdowns.

Coleman, a senior defensive back from Akron, Ohio, led the Eagles and ranked 10th in the PFL with 76 tackles, including 46 unassisted. He also tallied 4.5 tackles for loss and three pass break-ups.

Jackson, a junior defensive back from Cincinnati, ranked third at MSU with 72 tackles, including 45 solos. He also registered four tackles for loss, seven pass break-ups and three interceptions.

Lester, a senior defensive back from Marietta, Ga., finished fourth on the squad with 58 tackles. He posted a team-high 13 pass break-ups, along with two tackles for loss.

Cooper, a sophomore defensive lineman from Atlanta, led Morehead State with 11 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks. He posted 53 tackles, which placed fifth on the squad.

Bornhauser, a junior slot receiver and return specialist from Cincinnati, averaged 26.7 yards on 22 kick returns and 7.8 yards on 14 punt returns. He had 37 carries for 163 yards and seven touchdowns, plus 16 catches for 138 yards and two scores.

A total of 129 individuals from 12 PFL schools were recognized by the league office. The 21st annual postseason teams were voted on by the league’s head coaches.

The Eagles finished the 2013 campaign 3-9 overall and 3-5 in league play. MSU’s wins were over Davidson, Campbell and Valparaiso from Sept. 28-Oct. 19. Check throughout the off-season for updates on Morehead State football.