Three Jackson County educators to be honored

March 30, 2014

Three Jackson County educators will be honored at the Professional Oklahoma Educators Foundation Excellence in Education Merit & Character Awards Banquet, scheduled for 6:30 p.m., April 11 at the Professional Oklahoma Educators Foundation Conference and Event Center in Noble.

Eldorado teacher Adrianne Poe, Altus teacher Christina Sewell, and Navajo teacher Sherrie Webb have been nominated along with several other educators who have demonstrated outstanding performance and leadership in the classroom.

Adrianne Poe and Christina Sewell were nominated in the Elementary Merit Award category, and Sherrie Webb was nominated in the Special Education Educator Merit Award category.

The Professional Oklahoma Educators Foundation will recognize finalists in six merit award categories: elementary, middle school/junior high, high school, special education, non-certified staff (secretaries, aides, bus drivers and other staff) and administrator, and two character award categories: teacher and school.

One winner from each of the eight categories will be announced at the banquet. Each merit award winner receives a $500 cash award, free POE membership for one school year, a legislative citation honoring achievements in education, a bouquet of flowers and a personalized award. Character award winners receive a $2,500 cash award and the other items given to merit award winners. Educators are nominated for these prestigious awards by their peers.

OETA’s Dick Pryor will emcee the special event and Former Heisman Trophy Winner Billy Sims will be the keynote speaker.

The POE Foundation provides an opportunity for business and community leaders to join with educators to celebrate and encourage excellence in Oklahoma education. Sponsorships for the attendance of teachers and others are available at a variety of levels. All donations are tax deductible.

Donor levels for the event range from $100 to $2,500. Individual tickets can be purchased for $65 per person. Those interested in attending or sponsoring the event can obtain complete information by telephone 405-872-3175, fax 405-872-8897. The email address is