Proposed cuts in for county road and bridge projects

By Mary O. Esparza, -

Jackson County Commissioners met in regular session on Monday, Feb.8 at the Jackson County Courthouse.

Commissioners approved the January 2016 monthly reports and reconcilements for the following offices: Assessor, County Clerk, Sheriff, Health Department, Treasurer, District Attorney, Election, and the Case Balance Summary Report for the Court Clerk’s Office.

Commissioner Marty Clinton reported that several 2016 legislative proposals in funding cuts on county roads and bridges were introduced. Senators from Tulsa are questioning the State financing construction and improvements on county roads and bridges. In Fiscal year 2015, counties lost 12 percent, or $16 million of the County Improvement Roads and Bridges (CIRB) fund growth with a cap and lost 21 percent, or $50 million from the CIRB balance resulting in project delays/cancellations. It was also reported that they had maintenance money going into the county highway fund capped at fiscal year 2015 amounts preventing any growth in future maintenance money.

Commissioners said the impact of decreasing funding affects the people of Jackson County, local farmers, working people, and the schools. The county roads and bridges are a core service in transportation that must be provided for the safety and growth of our state. Commissioners encourage everyone to contact local legislators Senator Mike Shultz and Representative Charles Ortega, as well as Governor Mary Fallin.

In other business, the copier service contract for the County Clerk’s office was approved, and the Oklahoma Department of Transportation form for reimbursement from ODOT for Right of Way, Humphreys Road Phase 2 for $44,464.36, was also approved.

Approved for disposal from District 2 was a repeater control station, mobile radio, and Motorola Radio.

Property acquired at resale located at 712 W. Walnut, and 217 E. Liveoak was given approval for Commissioner’s Sale by Jackson County Treasurer Renee Howard.

Commissioners then approved Kirstie English as County Commissioner’s requisitioning officer and Chris Leville and Keith Osborne as receiving officers, effective Feb. 8. Receiving officers approved for District I were Robert Duvall and Greg Lehrman, District II, Billy Burrow and Elda Roberts, and for District III, Rex Roberson and Gerald Neely.

By Mary O. Esparza,

Reach Mary O. Esparza at 580-482-1221, ext. 2077

Reach Mary O. Esparza at 580-482-1221, ext. 2077

comments powered by Disqus