Last updated: June 25. 2014 1:28PM - 993 Views
by Michael Bush, managing editor fbush@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Voters across the state went to the polls on Tuesday, June 24, to vote in the primary election. Locally, there was only one race, for County Commissioner District 1. Norman Pruitt ran against incumbent Marty Clinton. There were a total of 828 ballots cast, with 127 of those being absentee ballots. Pruitt received 278 votes to Clinton’s 430.

“I’d like to thank those who supported me and voted for me,” said Clinton. “I’m glad we were able to win out over all the false information out there,” he added. “I know have four more years to get some more major projects done and under way. I look forward to serving all the people of Jackson County.”

Jackson County voters followed the voting trends across the state when it came to casting the votes for some of the major players, including Mary Fallin for Governor, Joy Hofmeister for Superintendent of Public Instruction, John Doak for Insurance Commissioner, and Jim Inhofe for United States Senator.

Locally, Fallin received 1279 votes to Dax Ewbanks’ 59 and Chad Moody’s 192. Statewide, the Democratic candidates for Supt. of Public Instruction advancing to runoff are John Cox and Freda Deskin. The GOP candidate elected is Joy Hofmeister. Locally, Hofmeister received 896 votes. Her opponents were Brian S. Kelly who received 278 votes, and Janet Barresi with 312 votes.

United States Senator Jim Inhofe, who won statewide, received 1395 votes locally, compared to opponents Evelyn Rogers with 45 votes, Rob Moye with 12 votes, D. Jean McBride-Samuels with 16 votes, and Erick Wyatt with 53 votes. Insurance Commissioner incumbent John Doak took 1032 votes locally, compared to opponent Bill Viner with 352 votes.

Other candidate who took top votes locally were: Todd Hiett over Cliff Branan for Corporation Commissioner, 740 votes to 653; U.S. Senator unexpired term, James Lankford with 793. Opponents Andy Craig received 6, T.W. Shannon received 684, Randy Brogdon received 23, Eric McCray received 7, Kevin Crow received 11 and Jason Weger received 5 votes.

Locally, United States Representative District 3 Frank Lucas received 1342 votes, compared to opponents Timothy Murray with 65, and Robert Hubbard with 113; the unexpired term for United States Senator was locally won by Jim Rogers with 301. Opponents Patrick Hayes received 150 votes, and Connie Johnson received 225.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Altus Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com